Board makes appointments, seeks parks applicants

Board also approved ARPA fund allocation, early voting resolution, performance pay.

The Laketown Township Board of Trustees approved several new appointments at the Wednesday, Dec. 13, 2023, meeting.

The board is still seeking applicants for an opening on the parks and recreation commission.

The following appointments were made by Supervisor Linda Howell and approved by board members. The appointments are effective Jan. 1.

Laketown Township Supervisor Linda Howell, left, presents Sara Giesler with a plaque of appreciation for Giesler’s 15 years of service as the township representative to the Holland Area Community Swimming Pool Authority. Giesler was chairperson for 10 of those years. She decided not to seek reappointment. The township board approved the appointment of Colleen Hill to the pool board on Wednesday, Dec. 13, 2023.


Zoning Board of Appeals: Reappointed Barb Hibiske for a 3-year term.

Planning Commission: Appointed Ray Buursma for 3-year term. He replaces Randy Becksvoort who did not seek reappointment after 13 years on the commission. Chad Nienhuis and Richard Becker were reappointed for 3-year terms.

Graafschap Fire Department board: Appointed Patrick Dietrich and Jim Johnson. They replace Linda Howell and Gary Dewey.

Building Authority: Appointed Bob Slikkers for a 3-year-term. He replaces Tom Shuff.

Holland Area Community Swimming Pool Authority: Appointed Colleen Hill for a 3-year term. She replaces Sara Giesler who served for 15 years on the board, 10 of those as chairperson. Giesler decided not to seek reappointment.

Howell presented Giesler with a plaque of appreciation at the Wednesday board meeting.

Saugatuck Community Recreation Board: Still needs a person from the township section (voting Precinct 3) in the Saugatuck Public Schools District.

Parks Commission

The township is taking applications for the Parks and Recreation Commission.

The opening is to fill the seat of Jeremy Van Hoven who submitted his resignation Nov. 16. The township board accepted his resignation at its Wednesday meeting.

Applications for the open seat should be submitted by 5 p.m. Friday, Dec. 29, to township Manager Al Meshkin at

An application form is available here on the township website at Choose “Boards & Commissions” then scroll to the bottom of the page and click on “Looking to apply for a township board or commission position? Fill out the application here.

Meshkin will compile the applicants, send them to township board members who will then choose the candidates they want to interview at the Jan. 10 meeting. A decision could be made at that meeting.

The person chosen for the position will serve through the November 2024 election.

Other business

In other business, the board:

  • Approved sending $50,000 of American Rescue Plan Act funds to the Community Enhancement Program, an areawide grant project through the Macatawa Area Coordinating Council.
  • Approved a resolution for early voting. Voters in all three precincts will do early voting at the township hall, 4338 Beeline Road, nine days prior to an election. Early voting hours will be 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. The first-time early voting will be used in the township is for the Feb. 27 presidential primary.
  • Approved a resolution for $12,500 in performance pay for township Manager Al Meshkin for the 2023-2024 fiscal year. Meshkin’s annual review by the board was Dec. 6.