New treasurer sworn in, ready to start Aug. 1

Trustee position open, filing deadline Aug. 4.
Laketown Township Deputy Clerk Jenifer French swears in new Treasurer Jim Johnson on Wednesday, July 26. He takes office Aug. 1. Johnson replaces Gary Dewey who resigned effective July 31 after serving on Laketown Township boards for 34 years.

New Laketown Township Treasurer Jim Johnson has been sworn in and is ready to begin his duties starting Tuesday, Aug. 1, 2023.

The board of trustees appointed Johnson, a trustee on the board, to the position on July 12 after long-time Treasurer Gary Dewey announced his resignation. The move created an open trustee slot on the five-member board.

Applications for the trustee position should be submitted by 5 p.m. Friday, Aug. 4, at the township office, 4338 Beeline Road or via email at An application form is available at under “Boards & Commissions” and scroll to the bottom of the page for the link. A letter of interest and/or a resume is also recommended.

An applicant must be a resident of the township and a registered voter.

The board will choose the new trustee by Sept. 13. The person will serve through the November 2024 election when he or she must run for the position.

Johnson has been a trustee on the township board since 2019. He has served on the parks and recreation commission and zoning board of appeals and is now a planning commission member.

“I believe we as the board of Laketown Township have a fiduciary duty to act in the best interests of our taxpayers/citizens,” he wrote on his application for the treasurer position.

Johnson is senior director of business development for Granger in Grand Rapids.

The Laketown Township board meets twice a month – a 5 p.m. workshop on the first Wednesday of each month and the 6 p.m. regular meeting on the second Wednesday of the month. Trustees serve on other boards or commissions, such as the planning commission, zoning board of appeals or other body as appointed by the supervisor or board.

A trustee is paid $5,000 a year.

The board is made up of five people – supervisor, clerk, treasurer and two trustees.